Prix Schläfli

Alternatively within the MAP disciplines. 2018: mathematics, 2019: physics, 2020: astronomy, etc.

Matteo Fadel: Prix Schläfli 2019 Physik
  • 05.11.2019

Award ceremony for the Prix Schläfli "Physics" 2019

The Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT) has awarded the Prix Schläfli 2019 to the four most important insights gained by young researchers at Swiss universities. Matteo Fadel has been awarded by the Prix Schläfli "Physics" for his findings in quantum mechanics.
Pokale Prix Schläfli
  • 21.05.2019

SCNAT honours the four best dissertations in sciences

Controlling the amount of phosphate in cells, the processes involved in catalysts, land use in Madagascar and a paradox of quantum physics – these are the topics for which the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT) has awarded the Prix Schläfli 2019 to the four most important insights gained by young researchers at Swiss universities. Murielle Delley (Chemistry), Matteo Fadel (Physics), Rebekka Wild (Biology) and Julie Zähringer (Geosciences) receive the prize for the findings arrived at in their dissertations. For the first time, six of the candidates for the Prix Schläfli in Physics were also selected to participate in the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting.
Matteo Fadel: Prix Schläfli 2019 Physik
  • 21.05.2019

Matteo Fadel - Paradoxical entanglements

A labyrinth of mirrors, a shiny pot, countless cables and digital displays. Visiting Matteo Fadel at his workplace at the University of Basel, he first takes us to the laboratory where he tracks strange quantum phenomena. Somewhere in the midst of all this apparatus, several hundred atoms are trapped and brought into a state that still causes physicists a lot of headaches today.

Prix de Quervain

Awarded on odd years for high-altitude research and on even years for polar research.

Colle Gnifetti
  • 07.11.2019

Atemwegserkrankungen in der Höhe und alpine Eiskernforschung: Zwei junge Forschende erhalten den Prix de Quervain 2019

Michael Furian von der ETH Zürich erhält die Auszeichnung für seine Dissertation zur Höhentoleranz von Patienten mit chronisch obstruktiver Lungenkrankheit. Sandra Brügger von der Universität Bern wird für ihre Doktorarbeit über die Nutzung von Eiskernen für ökologische Fragen geehrt.
Prix de Quervain 2019
  • 07.11.2019

Symposium Prix de Quervain 2019

Anlässlich des «Prix de Quervain» findet jedes Jahr im Herbst ein Symposium mit renommierten Referenten statt. Der Autor der prämierten Master- oder Doktorarbeit oder des Forschungsprojektes erhält die Möglichkeit, seine Forschungsergebnisse im Rahmen dieser Veranstaltung einer interdisziplinären Öffentlichkeit vorzustellen.
Prix de Quervain 2017
  • 23.11.2017

Symposium "Prix de Quervain" 2017

Diesjähriges öffentliches Symposium zur Verleihung des Prix de Quervain 2017.


The particle physicist Michał Rawlik (29), who studied physics at the Jagiellonian University in Kraków and earned his doctorate at ETH Zurich, is awarded the CHIPP Prize 2019. Photo: B. Vogel
  • 28.08.2019

CHIPP Prize 2019 goes to PSI researcher Dr. Michał Rawlik

Michał Rawlik, scientist at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (ETHZ) is awarded the CHIPP Prize 2019. The 29-year-old researcher receives the award for his doctoral thesis on the electric dipole moment of the neutron. The experiment he co-developed could one day help answer the question of why there is much more matter in the universe than antimatter.
Wins the CHIPP Prize 2018: Dr. Claudia Tambasco.
  • 29.08.2018

Claudia Tambasco honoured with CHIPP Prize 2018

In order for physicists at CERN to carry out their experiments for the understanding of matter, the large particle accelerator LHC must be operated with the utmost precision. Ensuring this precision both now and in the future was the overriding goal of a doctoral thesis that Claudia Tambasco recently completed at the EPFL in Lausanne. For this work, the young researcher was today (28.08.2018) awarded the prize of the Swiss Institute of Particle Physics (CHIPP) at a ceremony in Lausanne.
The CHIPP Prize winner 2017: Dr. Johanna Gramling.
  • 22.08.2017

CHIPP Prize 2017 goes to Johanna Gramling

The experimental detection of dark matter is one of the great challenges of current fundamental research in physics. This year’s prize of the Swiss Institute of Particle Physics (CHIPP) is awarded to the physicist Dr. Johanna Gramling for her latest contributions to the search for this mysterious component of matter.

Edith Alice Müller Award in Astronomy

Oliver Müller, winner the Edith Alice Müller Award 2019
  • 24.10.2019

Edith Alice Müller Award 2019

The PhD Prize of the Swiss Society for Astrophysics and Astronomy (SSAA) is awarded this year to Oliver Müller for his dissertation on "Small-scale cosmology with dwarf galaxies" conducted at the University of Basel.

Crystallography Prize

Luzia Germann awardee of the crystallography PhD Prize 2019
  • 08.08.2019

Crystallography PhD Prize 2019

The PhD Prize of the Swiss Society of Crystallography (SGK/SSCr) is awarded to Dr Luzia Germann for her thesis "Investigation of Solid State Reactions of Molecular Functional Materials by in situ X-ray Powder Diffraction". The award ceremony will take place during the society's Annual Meeting, Sept. 4, 2019 at EPFL Valais in Sion.

Nobel Prize in Physics

Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz, Nobel laureate in Physics 2019
  • 08.10.2019

Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz, Physics Nobel prize laureates 2019

The two researchers from the Astronomical Observatory of the University of Geneva share this extraordinary distinction with James Peebles, Professor Emeritus at Princeton University in the United States. The Nobel Prize was awarded to the Swiss scientists for the discovery in 1995 of the first planet outside our solar system.
Nobel Prize in Physics 2018
  • 02.10.2018

Tools made of light: Nobel Prize in Physics 2018

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 with one half to Arthur Ashkin (USA) and the other half jointly to Gérard Mourou (France) and Donna Strickland (Canada). Ashkin invented optical tweezers that grab particles, atoms, viruses and other living cells with their laser beam fingers. Mourou and Strickland paved the way towards the shortest and most intense laser pulses ever created by mankind.
Two Black Holes Merge into One
  • 03.10.2017

Physik-Nobelpreis geht an Gravitationswellen-Entdecker

Vor rund hundert Jahren hat Albert Einstein die Existenz von Gravitationswellen vorhergesagt. Dass man sie jemals nachweisen könnte, glaubte er selbst nicht. Und doch gelang es einem Forscherkonsortium im Herbst 2015. Drei wichtige Köpfe hinter dem Durchbruch erhielten nun den Nobelpreis für Physik.