The “SCNAT knowledge” web portal provides guidance. The Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT) and its network report the state of knowledge, based on sound scientific findings and in regards to Switzerland – for the attention of politics, administration, business, science and practice.more

Image: Tobias Günther, SNSF Scientific Image Competitionmore

Nobel Prize in Physics in the field of laser research

This year's Nobel Prize in Physics goes to Pierre Agostini in the USA, Ferenc Krausz in Germany and Anne L'Huillier in Sweden for advances in the field of laser research.

Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L’Huillier - winner of the Nobel prize in physics 2023
Image: Ill. Niklas Elmehed © Nobel Prize Outreach

The researchers have succeeded in generating extremely short laser pulses. These last one attosecond, or 0.000,000,000,000,001 seconds. This makes it possible to observe the dynamics of electrons within atoms, which move enormously fast. One possible application of this research is in medicine, for example: the smallest changes in blood samples can be observed and thus improvements in early diagnostics would be possible.

In 2022, the Nobel Prize in Physics went to the Frenchman Alain Aspect, the US American John F. Clauser and the Austrian Anton Zeilinger for research in the field of quantum physics.