The “SCNAT knowledge” web portal provides guidance. The Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT) and its network report the state of knowledge, based on sound scientific findings and in regards to Switzerland – for the attention of politics, administration, business, science and practice.more

Image: Tobias Günther, SNSF Scientific Image Competitionmore

I did it! Experiences from leading scientists

Webinar N°8 within a series of nine webinars on gender equality and diversity


16:00 - 17:00

Women who have attained leading positions may on their career path have been confronted with specific, gender related challenges. During the panel discussion, female professors and leaders will inform about their career path. They will include highlights and motivation of their career, the hurdles that they have encountered, and their solutions to overcome them. The interviews will address the significance of individual versus institutional and societal boundary conditions. Finally, the webinar aims to present experienced leaders to inspire young female scientists.

male and female scientists on dark blue background
Image: pixelfarm

Prof. Janet Hering is the Director of the Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology (Eawag), Professor of Environmental Biogeochemistry at ETHZ and Professor of Environmental Chemistry at EPFL, Switzerland. She is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering and the Academia Europaea.

Prof. Nouria Hernandez is a professor at the University of Lausanne, which she directed as Rector until the end of July 2021. Before this, she directed the Center for Integrative Genomics at the University of Lausanne.

Prof. Pilar Junier is a professor at University of Neuchâtel, Switzerland where she directs the laboratory of Microbiology.

Dr. Prisca Liberali is an independent research group leader at the Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research, Switzerland. She has received an ERC Starting Grant and a SNSF Professorship Grant and is part of two consortia grants – the Human Cell Atlas and Horizon 2020. This year she was awarded the Friedrich Miescher price.

I did it! Experiences from leading scientists